Home sports AP Sportlight


AP Sportlight

by Ace Damon
23 is the new 15 in a tactical sense at the Rugby World Cup

December 3rd

1943 Notre Dame quarterback Angelo Bertelli wins the Heisman Trophy.

1946 – Midfielder Glenn Davis is elected Heisman Trophy winner.

1950 – Tom Fears of the Los Angeles Rams receives 18 receptions against Green Bay.

1950 – Detroit Lions Cloyce Box receives 302 yards and scores four touchdowns against the Baltimore Colts.

1956 – Wilt Chamberlain scores 52 points in his college debut with Kansas.

1957 – Texas A&M; Midfielder John David Crow captures the Heisman Trophy winner.

1972 – Bobby Howfield of the New York Jets kicks six goals against New Orleans.

1973 – Miami Dolphins' Dick Anderson intercepts four passes, returning two for touchdowns against Pittsburgh.

1979 Southern California midfielder Charles White wins the Heisman Trophy.

1982 – Tommy Hearns wins the WBC middleweight title with a 15-round decision over Wilfred Benitez in New Orleans.

1994 – Sixth-ranked Florida wins the undefeated Alabama 24-23 and third in the SEC championship – the third consecutive year in which Gators and Crimson Tide meet in the conference title game.

1999 – Marshall wins Western Michigan 34-30 in the MAC Championship game on the last play. Under 30-27 with four seconds remaining, Chad Pennington launches his 100th touchdown pass for Eric Pinkerton, with time expiring to give Thundedring Herd his third consecutive MAC title.

2000 – The 200-yard games of Mike Anderson, Corey Dillon, Warrick Dunn and Curtis Martin mark the first time in the NFL that four runners have 200 yards on the same day. It never happened three times in one day.

2004 – Bode Miller wins his fourth downhill race of the season in Beaver Creek, Colorado, and Daron Rahlves is the second to give the US his first 1-2 World Cup victory.

2005 – Southern California wins their 34th consecutive and 16th consecutive match against a ranked opponent, defeating UCLA No. 66-19.

2014 – The Philadelphia 76ers avoid setting the record for the worst start of an NBA season by wrapping up its skid 0-17 with an 85-77 win over the Minnesota Timberwolves.

2015 – Aaron Rodgers launches 61-yard touchdown for Richard Rodgers with no time to give the Green Bay Packers a 27-23 win over the Detroit Lions.

2018 – Deshaun Watson launches a touchdown pass and Houston Texans intercepts rookie Baker Mayfield three times, returning one for a score, beating the Cleveland Browns 29-13 and extending its record franchise winning streak to nine games.

2018 – Freshman Christyn Williams scores 28 points out of 11 out of 16 shots and UConn # 2 women dominate Notre Dame 89-71 # 1.

Subscribe to daily newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

1 × five =

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More