Home sports This Date in Baseball


This Date in Baseball

by Ace Damon
This Date in Baseball

Today´s Deals

October 12th

1916 – The Boston Red Sox won the World Series in five games with a 4-1 win over the Brooklyn Dodgers. Ernie Shore threw three hitters to Boston.

1920 Cleveland Stan Staneles won his third World Series game when the Indians beat the Brooklyn Dodgers 3-0 and won the championship 5-2.

1929 – Philadelphia Athletics, behind Chicago Cubs 8-0 in the fourth game of the World Series, scored 10 races in the seventh inning to win 10-8.


1967 – Bob Gibson threw three hitters against the Boston Red Sox to give the St. Louis Cardinals a 7-2 win and the championship in seven games.

1977 – The Los Angeles Dodgers beat the New York Yankees 6-1 and equaled the World Series after two games. Catfish Hunter, who had not played for over a month, started the game for the Yankees. Ron Cey, Steve Yeager and Reggie Smith all showed up and knocked out Hunter in the third round.

1982 – Paul Molitor of Milwaukee had five hits, a World Series record, at the 10-0 premiere of Cardinals in St. Louis. Mike Caldwell threw the shutout for the Brewers.

1986 – The California Angels were one step closer to their first pennant when they left the Boston Red Sox back in the American League playoffs, with an 11-7-6 win in match 5.

1987 – Minnesota Twins beat the Detroit Tigers 9-5 and won their first American League pennant in 22 years. The Twins, with the worst road record of all pennants or divisions in history (29-52), led two of the three in Detroit to win the best of seven playoffs in five games.


1993 – The Toronto Blue Jays, behind Dave Stewart's strong pitch, beat the Chicago White Sox 6-3 and beat the American League pennant in six games.

2003 Josh Beckett released his first full game in 51 career outings, allowing two hits and scoring 11, when Florida closed Chicago 4-0 at NLCS game 5. Beckett tied an NLCS record for the smallest number of hits allowed in a full game.

2005 – The Chicago White Sox tied the AL series with a 2-1 win over the Los Angeles Angels. White Sox catcher A.J. Pierzynski seemed to attack Kelvim Escobar, who finished the ninth inning, but referee Doug Eddings decided that catcher Josh Paul dropped his third attack and Pierzynski reached first base. Pablo Ozuna, who competed with Pierzynski, took second and scored the goal of Joe Crede in the left corner.

2010 – Cliff Lee threw another gem of the postseason and Texas won a series of playoffs for the first time, beating Tampa Bay Rays 5-1 in an ALDS # 5 game. It was the first time in major league history that the winning team of all games in the post-season series.

2013 – Anibal Sanchez and four Detroit Tigers holders were two points behind the first combined non-hitter in post-season history, scoring 17 to beat the Boston Red Sox 1-0 in the opening series of the AL series. Boston was unsuccessful until Daniel Nava picked Joaquin Benoit with an out in ninth. Jhonny Peralta had an RBI single on Jon Lester in sixth place in the only race of the game.

2017 – Addison Russell drove in four races, Wade Davis won seven times and the Chicago Cubs reached their third NL Championship Series in a row, beating the Washington Nationals 9-8 in a 5 game thriller.

Today's Birthdays: Ketel Mars 26; Roman Salt 26; Jandel Gustave 27; JT Riddle 28.

Subscribe to daily newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Recommended Shopping



Related Articles

Leave a Comment

fifteen − 14 =

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More